How to Play

I am one of those people who are always busy. I get a lot done.  I am successful at my day job, I also own a small business, I post a food blog and I have an active social life.  If I can do all of this while just floating along, what can I do when I actually set a goal?

Inspired by Jackie’s success in her 2011 post a day challenge I have set a goal. In 2012 I will make 52 attempts at making the world a better place one person at a time.  Each week I will go out of my way to help someone in need or make someone feel better.  Each week I will document the event and I will have a new and interesting martini as my reward.

The person I help must either be lifted in a way that changes their trajectory, or would reasonably tell someone about the event that happened that day.  My friend Jeff will be my judge to tell me if I am successful and ultimately meet me at The Cashmere Cricket (or another location) to tell me if I have earned my reward.  

I will post about the person, event and martini here each week. My hope is that readers will either be encouraged to help other or at least try new and interesting drinks.  Either way my ultimate goal is to have 52 acts of random kindness and truly enjoy the beverages that I earn.  No martinis will go unearned this year so a positive externality may be a bit of weight loss too.

No matter what, I hope to spread a little good karma and good drink recipes.  While my faith and tradition prevents me from making vows, I can strive to accomplish mitzvot and help others in the coming year.  Even if I fail at some point in the year I will be able to say I tried and accomplished something.

Here’s hoping there’s 50 some odd act of awesomeness in 2012. 

What did you do this week?

Jen

About Jen The Nerd

Nerd that likes food - What else do you need to know?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How to Play

  1. Pingback: Week 15: Espresso Yourself | martinisformerits

  2. Pingback: Everyone Knows Bob and Bob Knows Everyone. | jensfoodadventures

  3. Pingback: Week 18: Her Next One’s On Me | martinisformerits

  4. Pingback: Week 31: Spread Good Will and Caramel Apples | martinisformerits

  5. Pingback: New Adventures for Jen! | jensfoodadventures

Leave a comment